Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation, The Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Marriage.

The seven sacraments touch all the important moments of Christian Life. The sacraments give birth and increase healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. Therefore, there is a resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of spiritual life.

The Sacraments of Christian Initiation are Baptism, the Eucharist, and Confirmation. They lay the foundations for every Christian’s life of faith.

The Sacraments of Healing are Penance and Reconciliation, and the Anointing of the Sick. These sacraments reconcile us with God and Church when we confess our sins and provide grace and healing when faced with illnesses, suffering and death.

The Sacraments at the Service of Communion are Holy Orders and Matrimony. These sacraments are directed towards the salvation of others. If they contribute as well to personal salvation, it is through service to others that they do so. They confer a particular mission in the Church and serve to build up the People of God.

Catechism of the Catholic Church: 1210-1212, 1420-1422, 1533-1535

Scroll down to learn more about the Sacraments and how and when they are celebrated in our parish


The Sacrament of Baptism

Congratulations on the birth of your child!


The Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation

The sacrament Penance and Reconciliation

Jesus’ call to conversion and penance … aims … at the conversion of the heart, interior conversion. 


The Sacrament of the Eucharist - First Holy Communion

An important year in the life of your child and you their parents/guardians.


The Sacrament of Confirmation

Confirmation celebrates the coming of the Holy Spirit.

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful
and kindle in them the fire of your love.
Send forth your Spirit and they shall be created.
And You shall renew the face of the earth.



The Sacrament of Matrimony

The Church rejoices in your decision to get married and offers its continued support to you as you journey together.


The Sacrament of Holy Orders

Have you been called by God to serve as a priest, deacon or in a religious order? We invite you to call the parish office and speak with one of our priests.

They will be  happy to talk to you about your vocation and make an introduction for you to the Director of Vocations.


The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

The Church believes and confesses that among the seven sacraments there is one especially intended to strengthen those who are being tried by illness, the Anointing of the Sick.


Search Parishes of Greystones & Kilquade